Star Bistro on Cheltenham’s Royal Crescent is a real triumph of style and substance.

Businesswoman Linda Jones handed her business over to National Star College on 1st April 2014. I went there for lunch one sunny day back in July, the first time I had been since the change.

Staff were really lovely, not just welcoming but kind and thoughtful. They couldn’t do enough for us. I had a young child with me, so their attentiveness was especially welcome. They quickly put us at ease and even provided some colouring-in while we waited.

Environmental concern has to be on everyone’s agenda these days (personally I believe it does us all good to think about it anyway). Being below street level will probably help as underground the temperature remains more regular throughout the year (Summer is, of course, not the best time to judge). The windows appear to be single-glazed, which is something to address when they need replacing, and the radiators look like old style so may not be the most efficient. Good to see LED light bulbs, especially as the underground aspect means artificial lighting is more necessary.

Reducing our meat consumption is one of the most effective ways to tackle climate change, so I was pleased to see plenty of vegetarian options on the menu. They have also thought about those who need to be gluten-free. However, Vegans will struggle a bit. Glad to see free-range eggs, and that at least some of the food (e.g. Gloucestershire Brie) is locally-sourced. More of that, please – and is any of it organic? And in general I would like to see a little more information on all this.

The menu was well set-out and simple with a varied selection. Service was quick and the food quality excellent. I really enjoyed my meal, as did my three-year-old companion.

The place also had a good ‘buzz’ and is clearly popular.

One staff member anticipated that we would not finish and offered us a takeaway box – something I have always had to ask for elsewhere. And it was the atmosphere of kindness that left the strongest impression as I look back on the experience. What came across to me forcefully was not that people with disabilities can do “as well” as those without. It seems to me that the unique environment at Star Bistro is because of those disabilities, not in spite of them. There is something life-giving that happens when people keep their humanity in view, “how fragile we are”.

Star College’s website talks about “people with disabilities [being] able to realise their potential”. What I am left with is the revelation that not only is that possible, but in fact we need people with disabilities to show us what the potential in our society is.